The Southland App
The Southland App
Advocate Communications
Get it on the Apple StoreGet it on the Google Play Store
Listen to...Shop LocalNotices | JobsContact
The Southland App

Joseph O'Donnell named ILT Southland Musician of the Year

The Southland App

Chris Chilton

04 July 2024, 10:57 PM

Joseph O'Donnell named ILT Southland Musician of the YearILT Southland Musician of the Year Joseph O'Donnell in his winning performance at the Southland Music Awards. Photo: Element Photography

Drummer Joseph O’Donnell was last night named Southland Musician of the Year, at the Southland Musicians Club Southland Music Awards.

The event, at Ascot Park Hotel, Invercargill, was a reboot of the former Southland Entertainment Awards, which were last held in 2020 before Covid struck. 

On a night of exceptional performances, with a massive stage and light show designed by Sono Sound, O’Donnell wowed the audience with his skills, power and precision in a breathtaking version of Tool’s progressive metal anthem 46 & 2. Keyboards Player of the Year Marcus Crowe provided excellent vocals, with tight backing from the show band Jason Schmidt (guitar), Asher Skerrett (bass) and Aaron Ives (drums).

Invercargill Licensing Trust vice-president Angela Newell presented the award to O’Donnell.

He is the drummer for outstanding Invercargill progressive-metal band Filth Wizard. All three members of the band were award winners, with guitarist Tyler Reynolds and bassist Hanna Ott also claiming trophies.

The show featured headline sets from New Zealand pop star Sam Cullen, who received the Southland Music Ambassador Award, and gifted vocal trio The Dollys, who won the More FM People’s Choice Award.

The event came with a new format. Winners in each category were named before the show, and performed in front of judges and the audience who voted for the supreme title of Southland Musician of the Year. The MC was Radio Southland station manager Darren Ludlow.

Southland Musicians Club president Trevor Daley said he was thrilled to see the event back up and running. “I like the new format, where any musician or singer can win the supreme award. It’s something different from what we used to do.

“Thanks to all the sponsors and everyone who supported the show, and all the musicians and performers who allowed their names to go forward for this special event. We hope to make it even bigger next year.”

2024 Southland Music Award winners are:

  • ILT Southland Musician of the Year: Joseph O’Donnell
  • Jason Taylor Vehicle Sales Guitarist of the Year: Tyler Reynolds
  • Kennedy School of Music Keyboards Player of the Year: Marcus Crowe
  • Sono Sound Band of the Year: Hoodaki
  • Bass Player of the Year: Hanna Ott
  • Vocalist of the Year: Maia Pereiha-Fletcher
  • Drummer of the Year: Joseph O’Donnell
  • Acoustic Instrumentalist of the Year: Kate McGregor
  • Special Achievement Award: Reuben Brown
  • More FM People’s Choice Award: The Dollys
  • Ambassador Award: Sam Cullen
  • Production Award: Charlie “Chainsaw” Rodgers
  • Frank Prattley Award for most promising musician: Kian Eriksson
  • Radio Southland Song of the Year: John the Dog (Hoodaki)
  • Radio Southland Album of the Year: Songs from the Reading Room (Arun O’Connor)

The Southland App
The Southland App
Advocate Communications

Get it on the Apple StoreGet it on the Google Play Store